Browse Items (49 total)

  • Tags: Photo File: Churches

Photo of Rev. J. E. Story

Photograph of Rev. J. E. Story, he served at the 7th Street Christian Church now the Prairie Ave. Christian Church, left in 1935.

Photo of Bethlehem Presbyterian Church

Photograph of Bethlehem Presbyterian Church, southwest of Decatur on the Mount Auburn Road. More information on the church in the Herald and Review; 11/19/2002; p. c2.

Photo of Cleveland Avenue Methodist Church.

Photograph of the Cleveland Avenue Methodist Church located at 904 Cleveland Avenue, Decatur, IL.

Photo of Dr. Benjamin F. Shipp

Photograph of Dr. Benjamin F. Shipp (born 1861; died Dec 1937). Superintendent of the Decatur District of the Illinois Methodist conference from 1905 to 1910. Photo ran 1906.

Photo of Dr. Walter F. Day and Carlos Kincaid, pastors Grace United Methodist Church.

Photographs of Dr. Walter F. Day (died 12/24/1974) and Carlos Kincaid. Dr. Day is welcoming Carlos Kincaid as a new pastor to Grace United Methodist Church. For more information on Carlos Kincaid; see Decatur Review dated 7/5/1949.

Photo of Four Square Gospel Church

Photograph of Four Square Gospel Church, 300 Block E. Leafland Ave., Decatur, IL. "Parishioners Build Their Own Church. The 250 members of the Four Square Gospel church in Decatur, Ill. have constructed their new edifice, using only volunteer labor…

Photo of Pastor of North Woodlawn Baptist Church.

CH3-North Woodlawn Baptist_Rev_A_Schultz.jpg
Photograph of Rev. A. Schultz pastor of North Woodlawn Baptist Church, Decatur, IL.

Photo of Rev. Elisha Safford

Photograph of Rev. Elisha Safford; (died 3/5/1948). Former pastor of the Westminster Presbyterian Church in Decatur. He became pastor in Decatur in 1912 and while he was here the present Westminster church building was constructed. He left Decatur…

Photo of Rev. Eugene M. Smith, pastor First Christian Church

Photograph of Rev. Eugene m. Smith (died 9/13/1923). Rev. Smith former pastor of the First Christian Church in Decatur. He came to Decatur in 1908 and remained until 1915, when to went to Carthage, IL. In 1910 he was elected president of the Northern…